A Bunch of Blurbs

                                                                          

Flowers in the Throat

Furrowed trenches of carbon black flesh loose upon it’s hunched frame. A rib cage filled  with rotting flowers, climbing up the throat and pouring out it’s mouth. jaws so unhinged, a snake could never compare. The hair soaked and ratted, chunks ripped from the skull. I’m afraid, but I can tell it is as well. the flashes of fear within black, swimming eyes. a scream bubbles up my throat but it soon repressed by a charred and spiny hand in my throat. It’s cold like the fresh icicles that grow on the roof in early December. Wrapping around my windpipe, but applying no pressure.

Why can’t I scream?

Well, it’s hard to yell when you are choking up flowers.


Of Ash and Foam

A young girl with hair of ash and eyes of foam

lived in a cottage down by the cold sea

the only thing she ever asked for in her life

was affection from her parents

specifically, her father

she loved him so much and every birthday 

she would ask for a hug

but he refused her, every time

he would tell her that he hit her because he loved her

that the bruises would blossom into bouquets of pink roses, which they eventually did

she believed him, and always remembered that

“Daddy only did it to help her be beautiful”, like roses

then at age ten, she was dead by his hand.


Mint typewriter. (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/355573333053008471/ [Accessed 27 Apr. 2018].

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “A Bunch of Blurbs

  1. Emily,

    This was an amazing idea to put together multiple works that you have created! Not to mention, all three of them compliment each other perfectly 🙂 They are all so similar in genre, yet so different… I loved to see multiple sides of your writing all at once, which I appreciate all so dearly! I look forwards to more of your writing!!!

    Some advice I would give is concerning enjambment. Poetry is a difficult aspect of creative writing and I thought a little insight might be useful! Don’t worry, I’m not saying you did it wrong! I myself have struggles with this, so I thought it may be useful, and I hope it is! Here is a site I found that may dig a little deeper on this subject.

    http://literarydevices.net/enjambment/

    Your imagination always amazes me and I always enjoy the subjects that you touch on, which I find never really crosses my mind! I’m glad I get to read your writing, it helps me develop mine! <3

    Love love love,

    Elissa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *