~That Boy~

I hate love;

I do

But I feel it,

Possibly more and harder than anyone else.

 

I met a boy a while back;

A friend,

No more than that.

But I started to feel a pressure in my chest the more I looked at him.

 

Is it love?

Strong, with a heart of gold

I haven’t known him for too long, so why do I feel this way?

 

I don’t know if what I heard was music,

Or his voice,

Rumbling soft and low in his throat.

 

Such honeyed words,

Causing goosebumps;

Longing to hear that voice

Like the sweetest symphony.

 

Banging against my eardrums

Vowels like strings,

And consonants like winds.

Melding in perfect harmony to create a masterpiece.

Feeling low and gentle vibrations,

Loud and clear.

 

I close my eyes and see him there.

My dark soul feels warm with light;

A girl of pain who speaks of love,

Like she never has before.

The ice wall melts from around her heart.

 

His soft laugh resonates along the walls of my rib cage.

My lungs fill with sweet spring lilacs,

That dust the cobwebs away.

 

I feel pretty when he’s around,

Like flower petals washed clean with rain;

As pastel drowns out the dark.

 

At least for now.

 

All for some boy,

Who will never feel the same;

But I dream that he would.

 

When he touches my hand

My heart flutters wildly like a raven that’s been caged.

And his smile,

Like a warm summer’s glow

 

He does have his flaws,

Like all of us do.

 

Like how three single hairs are beginning to go a little gray

I wonder if they are still there?

I wonder if he knows about it?

I think it’s sweet;

But he never seems to realize what he does to my heart.

 

Yes, he is perfect imperfection.

 

But I am just imperfection.

 

A victim of his own radiance;

Blooming in the light of spring,

Like fresh lilacs.

 

They clear my sinuses and leave my head reeling.

But I am a petal-less rose

Coated in thorns to defend herself from any form of love;

Afraid of it being unrequited

Because she knows it will be.

_______________________________________________________________

So this piece was partially inspired by Faith B’s poem Dream Boy as well as my own desire to get this thing off my chest. I’m not great when it comes to love so I thought I would just write it down instead of facing this person like a grown up. I really hope they never read this because that would be very embarrassing; I don’t really know what else to say other than I am glad I wrote this and I liked being able to add that Lilac theme into this piece since I’m trying to incorporate it as often as I can. I kind of combined a bunch of different things I had come up with in my journal that I thought would work for this piece.

Image From – http://nnnnicolexo.tumblr.com/post/83274307647

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “~That Boy~

  1. Dear Emily,

    While scrolling down to write my comment I saw that you put the tag “Ew” which I think is so funny knowing who you are, but I enjoyed this piece immensely! I’m all for love and the way you described the boy was soo cute- I could see some aspects of my “Dream Boy” piece in it too. Your inclusion of imagery and figurative language to juxtapose yourself with the boy/associations with him had me taking notes of inspiration so I could use them in the future! Here are a few I especially adored:
    “Is it love?
    Strong, with a heart of gold”
    “My heart flutters wildly like a raven that’s been caged” (Interesting how you used a raven (to represent you?) because other writers would commonly say a dove.)
    “I feel pretty when he’s around
    Like flower petals washed clean with rain
    As pastel drowns out the dark”
    I also really liked how you included lilacs (and the idea of flowers in general) as it goes with your purple blog!

    After reading your other poetry, I assume that the use of little to no punctuation is a stylistic choice, but I was wondering if you could try to add some in this piece to further a sense of pathos and add flow; however, that is a personal preference and I don’t think there is anything else I would really suggest as I really loved this piece. Thank you for the great read!

    With Love,
    Faith

  2. Dearest Emily,

    thou hast written a grand letter of lpove.

    p
    r
    a
    g
    y
    a

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *