~Blue Veins~

Because he was he, because I was I.

Our lives lie in tangled messes,

heartstrings too wound around ourselves that we cannot reach others.

Tendrils reaching for closeness but never quite reaching.

Veins and blood vessels swirl like thin shots of food colouring in water.

 

We are too different,

our hearts;

our food colouring.

two starkly different shades.

For him, I like to imagine blue;

cerulean standing out against the pigments of his skin,

it stains my hands when we touch;

sinking into my fingerprints, merging with my DNA.

Robins Egg blue in my soul, mixing with my blood,

violet.

 

My food colouring is black,

the mixture of every colour in the box.

A shade you hoped would be beautiful; a rainbow.

A muddy mess that causes your kindergarten class to laugh at you

for your sad attempt to seem normal.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Inspired by the line from Call Me By Your Name.

Image from: https://www.buzzfeed.com/deerobertson/food-coloring-is-awesome

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “~Blue Veins~

  1. Dear Emily,
    This was such a beautiful piece! I have not read a lot of your work but I can really see by this piece that you are a talented writer. I really enjoyed the imagery in this piece I feel like it really got across the message you were trying to convey while also creating a dark mood in your writing. One this I would add is a longer description talking about what you as the writer were trying to do with this piece and also just a description of what this post means to you. Also I would just read over the first stanza to make sure it flows better.

    Keep up the great work!
    Sincerely,
    Aliza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *